Detailing Tools / Car Dryer Blowers
EQUIPMENT GUIDE
Car Dryer Blowers
A car dryer blower is a dedicated machine that moves water off a vehicle with air. This page compares handheld vehicle dryers and hose-based dryers on wheels or a wall mount. Drying towels and wash mitts are a separate product lane. Polishers and polishing pads are unrelated tool families. This guide does not shop for either.
Every figure below comes from the manufacturer’s own product page, checked on 15 October 2026. If a page prints two figures that do not describe the same measurement, both stay. If a spec is missing, it is marked not disclosed. Nothing here is a hands-on drying test, a timed dry, a noise test, or a score. There are no affiliate links.
How these dryers were compared
A product had to be sold by its maker as a vehicle dryer or dedicated automotive blower. Yard blowers stayed off the shortlist. Formats were handheld, or a hose dryer with wheels or a wall bracket.
The fields used are the ones the makers print: airflow or air speed, motor power, heated air, filtration, hose, cord, voltage, amperage, circuit notes, nozzles, weight, dimensions, mounting, and warranty. A blank official field is not filled from a retailer or a forum. Peak horsepower is not rewritten as watts. Cubic feet per minute is not treated as the same number as feet per minute or miles per hour.
Quick comparison
CFM is air volume. FPM, mph, and km/h are air speed. They are not one ranking.
| Product | Format | Documented airflow | Heated air | Filtration | Hose or cord | Electrical notes | Fits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetroVac Air Force Blaster Sidekick, SK-1 | Handheld | 100 CFM and 18,000 FPM | 30°F above ambient | Filtered; foam filter | Cord: 14 in, 12 ft, or 25 ft | 120V, 8 A, 960 W, 1.3 peak HP. Circuit not disclosed. | Compact handheld with the fullest spec table here |
| Adam’s Handheld Mini Air Cannon | Handheld | 90 CFM and 19,000 FPM | Heated; rise not disclosed | Filtered | 20 ft cord | 120V, 10 A, 1,200 W. Circuit not disclosed. | Compact handheld with a published CFM figure |
| Chemical Guys ProBlow, EQP403 | Handheld | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 10 ft cord; rubber tip | 1,000 W. Voltage, amps, and circuit not disclosed. | Light handheld documented mainly by wattage and weight |
| BLO AIR-S | Handheld | 21,800 FPM. CFM not disclosed. | Up to 25 degrees above ambient | Warm filtered air | 16 ft / 5 m cord; three nozzles | 1.5 HP, two speeds. Voltage and circuit not disclosed. | Crevices, grilles, wheels, and motorcycles |
| Adam’s Air Cannon | Hose, casters | 392 CFM; also over 73,200 ft/min and just over 200 mph | Heated in under 30 seconds; rise not disclosed | Filtered | Hose about 10 ft, expanding to 30 ft; 15 ft cord | 20 amp circuit required. Also states 3.2 HP and a dual 800 W motor. | Garage hose dryer with a published CFM figure |
| BLO AIR-GT | Hose, locking wheels | 61,500 FPM. CFM not disclosed. | Up to 30 degrees above ambient | Warm filtered air | Hose over 26 ft / 8 m; cord 16 ft / 5 m | 8 HP, twin motors. 20 amp circuit required. | Higher-output wheeled dryer |
| bigboi BlowR PRO MKII | Hose, wheels, wall mount | Up to 62,200 ft/min; up to 280 mph, also stated as 450 km/h | Page states both 20°C and 68°F above ambient | Foam filter | 9 m / 29.5 ft hose; 5 m power cable | Dual 900 W. 110–120V, 60 Hz. Comparison table lists 15A. | Hose dryer with a published voltage range |
| McKee’s 37 8.0 HP Twin-Turbo | Hose, casters, wall mount | 58,500 ft/min. CFM not disclosed. | Heated; rise not disclosed | Filtered | 30 ft hose; 12 ft cord | Two 4.0 peak HP motors, 8.0 peak HP combined. Circuit not disclosed. | Hose dryer also documented for wall mounting |
Dedicated dryer shortlist
MetroVac Air Force Blaster Sidekick
Model SK-1 is all steel, 4.5 by 7.5 by 9.75 inches, and 3 pounds. Accessories are an air flare and a blower nozzle. MetroVac says the airflow figures are taken at full opening and change with attachments. The one-year limited warranty covers the unit, motor, parts, switches, and cords, and it excludes brushes, filters, physical damage, improper electrical connections, and water damage. The 14-inch cord option is a different reach from the 25-foot option.
Adam’s Handheld Mini Air Cannon
Weight is 3 pounds 2 ounces, with a flat tip and a round tip. Heat and filtration are stated. A temperature rise, a circuit size, and unit dimensions are not. Claims that it outperforms every other handheld dryer are not used, because no comparison set is shown.
Chemical Guys ProBlow
SKU EQP403 weighs 3.3 pounds. The product page says to hold it about 12 inches from the surface. Airflow, heat, filtration, voltage, amperage, circuit, and warranty are not disclosed. A mention of household drying does not move this page into yard-tool shopping. Drying-time claims are not repeated.
BLO AIR-S
The 25-degree rise is printed without a Fahrenheit or Celsius label, so it is not converted. A later paragraph says cordless. The spec list is a corded dryer with three nozzles, and that corded description is the one used here. Weight and dimensions are not disclosed.
Adam’s Air Cannon
Keep three airflow statements separate: 392 CFM, over 73,200 feet per minute, and just over 200 mph, also written as 95 m/s. The feet-per-minute line is not the same stated speed as just over 200 mph, and neither is a restatement of 392 CFM. The 3.2 HP bullet and the dual 800 W sentence are also left unconverted. The stored hose starts at roughly 10 feet. The 84 dB figure is the maker’s, not a reading from this site. Heated air is said to arrive in under 30 seconds, with no rise printed. Warranty is one year against manufacturer defects. The 20 amp requirement is a circuit check, not a claim about every garage outlet.
BLO AIR-GT
Wheels swivel and lock. Nozzles are round and flat. The 30-degree rise has no named scale, so it is not converted. CFM, voltage, a separate amp figure, weight, and dimensions are not disclosed. Warranty is stated as three years. The 20 amp line is the electrical fact a buyer can check.
bigboi BlowR PRO MKII
The 280 mph line and the 450 km/h line agree, because 450 km/h is about 280 mph. The heat lines do not: 20°C above ambient and 68°F above ambient are both printed, and neither is selected. Hose length agrees: 9 meters is 29.5 feet. Nozzle count does not: the spec line says two and the box list says three. The 81 dB figure is the maker’s high-speed figure. The 7-kilogram weight is a carton weight, not a published machine weight. Four speeds, a wheelbase, wall mounting, and a two-year warranty are documented. An “up to 80 percent” drying-time line is not used as a spec.
McKee’s 37 8.0 HP Twin-Turbo
Casters, a wall bracket, and a hose rack are all documented. The hose tip is rubber. Construction is powder-coated steel. Warranty language is five years limited on the unit and motor, and one year on parts, switches, and cords. Voltage, amperage, circuit, CFM, weight, and dimensions are not disclosed, so no outlet claim is added.
Handheld and hose-based formats
The handheld group is the Sidekick, the Mini Air Cannon, the ProBlow, and the AIR-S. You carry the motor. Reach is the cord. Published cords run from the Sidekick’s 14-inch option, which is a stubby lead rather than a walk-around cord, to the Mini Air Cannon’s 20 feet. Pick the Sidekick cord at purchase. Those options are not the same tool in use.
The hose group is the Air Cannon, the AIR-GT, the BlowR PRO MKII, and the McKee’s Twin-Turbo. The motor stays on casters, locking wheels, or a bracket, and the hose carries the air. Published hoses run from the Air Cannon’s roughly 10 feet expanding to 30 feet, through the AIR-GT’s hose over 26 feet / 8 meters, the BlowR’s 9-meter hose, and the McKee’s 30-foot hose. A hose dryer can move around the vehicle while the heavy part stays put. It needs storage. Only the BlowR and the McKee’s unit are documented here as wall-mountable. The Air Cannon and the AIR-GT are documented as rolling units.
Airflow, heat, filtration, and power
Volume, when a maker prints CFM, is how much air moves. Speed, when a maker prints FPM, mph, or km/h, is how fast it moves. A mirror housing or a badge may depend more on speed and the nozzle. A broad panel may depend more on volume. Only the Sidekick, the Mini Air Cannon, and the Air Cannon print CFM. The others print feet per minute, miles per hour, or nothing. A missing CFM cell stays empty.
Heat is documented for every shortlist dryer except the ProBlow. Only the Sidekick names a scale: 30°F above ambient. BLO prints 25 and 30 degrees without a scale. bigboi prints two scales that do not match. Adam’s and McKee’s say heated and print no rise. None of this is a paint-temperature guarantee or a safe-distance rule beyond the ProBlow page’s own 12-inch instruction.
Filtration is documented for every shortlist dryer except the ProBlow. The pages do not grade filter media. Adam’s says an unfiltered blower can throw debris onto paint. That is a class boundary, not a filter ranking.
Electrical notes are uneven, and the gaps matter. The Sidekick prints 120V and 8 amps. The Mini Air Cannon prints 120V and 10 amps. The BlowR prints 110–120V and a 15A label. The Air Cannon and the AIR-GT both require a 20 amp circuit. The ProBlow, the AIR-S, and the McKee’s dryer do not publish a circuit size. A 20 amp note means you check the circuit. It does not mean a 15 amp receptacle is adequate. Horsepower stays in horsepower. Where watts are also printed, both numbers are shown and neither is recalculated.
Which setup fits which dryer
There is no universal winner. Match the documented format to the outlet and the storage you have.
For a compact handheld, the Sidekick has the fullest table, including a 30°F rise, if you choose the cord on purpose. The Mini Air Cannon is the other handheld with a published CFM figure and a 20-foot cord, with its temperature rise undisclosed. The ProBlow is the light 3.3-pound option only if missing airflow, heat, and filtration are acceptable. The AIR-S is the crevice and motorcycle handheld, and it should be read as corded.
For a hose dryer, the Air Cannon is the caster model with a published 392 CFM figure and a stated 20 amp circuit, conflicts included. The AIR-GT is the locking-wheel model with a high FPM figure and the same 20 amp check, without CFM. The BlowR PRO MKII is the model with a published voltage range, four speeds, and either wheels or a wall mount, with heat and nozzle count unresolved. The McKee’s Twin-Turbo is the 30-foot hose model documented for both casters and a wall bracket, with power left for you to confirm.
Dedicated car dryer vs a generic leaf blower
A generic leaf blower is a different product class. Adam’s, on the Air Cannon page, says a leaf blower has no filter and can throw airborne debris onto the finish, and that a compressor air chuck is a narrow substitute. That is the boundary. This page does not rank cordless yard blowers, gas blowers, or lawn-tool brands. A yard blower can move water. It is not, by that fact, a dedicated vehicle dryer with published filtration and a stated electrical limit.
Dryer machine vs drying towel
A dryer blows water. A drying towel touches the paint and holds it. Maker pages often sell the blower as a way to avoid towel contact. That sales point does not make this a towel guide. Fabric, GSM, and mitt shape belong on Car Drying Towels & Wash Mitts. A blower may clear a badge or a mirror while a towel still finishes a panel. This page does not turn that observation into a wash lesson. The wash sequence is on How to Wash a Car.
What to check before you buy
Confirm format, then reach, then power. A handheld is one piece in the hand. A hose dryer needs floor space or a bracket. Cord and hose lengths above are the documented reach figures. Then use only the printed electrical note. If it says 20 amps, check the circuit. If it prints only horsepower, do not invent an amp draw. Then see whether filtration and heat are actually stated. A missing heat line is not a hidden temperature. A missing filter line is not a hidden filter.
Frequently asked questions
Is a handheld dryer the same job as a hose dryer?
No. Handheld units in this set publish lower CFM where they publish CFM at all, and their pages emphasize mirrors, grilles, and seams as well as panels. Hose dryers are the garage machines with the motor off the hand. This page did not time either format.
Does heated air mean a safe paint temperature?
No panel temperature is published for these machines. The Sidekick’s 30°F figure is a rise above ambient air. Where the rise is missing, or where two rises conflict, the guide says so.
Will these dryers run on any garage outlet?
Not as a group. The Air Cannon and the AIR-GT state a 20 amp circuit. Others print 8 amps, 10 amps, or 15A, and three publish no circuit figure. Check the note for the model in front of you.
Do I still need a drying towel?
Towel and mitt shopping stays on its own page. A blower and a towel do different jobs. This machine list does not choose a fabric.
Sources and method
Pages read on 15 October 2026 were MetroVac for the Sidekick, Adam’s Polishes for the Handheld Mini Air Cannon and the Air Cannon, Chemical Guys for the ProBlow, BLO for the AIR-S and the AIR-GT, bigboi for the BlowR PRO MKII, and McKee’s 37 for the Twin-Turbo. No product was run, weighed, or metered for this article. Manufacturer noise figures are quoted as manufacturer figures. Conflicts are shown rather than smoothed over.
Related equipment guides
Other equipment guides sit on the Tools & Equipment hub. Towel and mitt selection stays on Car Drying Towels & Wash Mitts.
